Where to Start First? How to Maximize your Learning Experience?

The Arizona Enneagram Association offers an on-going course of study that includes introductory classes and work in small groups for intermediate and advanced work.

While it is useful to start with the classes in AEA Stage 1, the curriculum can be taken in any order, depending on when the student is to able to connect with the calendar of offerings in a given year.

All classes use the Narrative Inquiry Method and a variety of exercises and practices designed to help participants develop their capacity for self-observation. This approach to understanding and exploring one’s Enneagram personality type uncovers one’s individual path of liberation, from the habitual and limiting ways of the human condition,  to a path that leads toward personal integration, better relationships, and spiritual freedom.

Classes are taught by Enneagram teachers trained by Helen Palmer and David Daniels in the Narrative Tradition who are also Professional Members of the Arizona Enneagram Association.

Visit UPCOMING AT A GLANCE page for dates and locations of upcoming, scheduled classes and events.

Overview of the Stages of the AEA Developmental Process

Stage 1: Basic Classes

The objectives of the basic classes are to provide students with an understanding of their own personality type as well as the Enneagram system as a whole, and to support students in developing healthy personal egos and fulfilling relationships.

Tour of the Types
Foundations of the Enneagram of Personality Types
Foundations of the Enneagram Subtypes

Stage 2: Barriers to Spiritual Freedom Series

The Barriers to Spiritual Freedom Series of classes introduces students to the practice of inquiry as an essential tool for inner development and moving beyond the habitual identification and patterns of personality type.  These classes offer students the opportunity to work in a small group environment to deepen their self-understanding, strengthen their inner observer, and move toward spiritual freedom.  Foundations of the Enneagram of Personality Type is a strongly recommended preparation for all of the classes at this level.

Type and False Identification

Habits of Emotions and Defenses

Instinctual Energies and Subtypes

Stage 3: Experiencing Spiritual Freedom Series

The classes in the Experiencing Spiritual Freedom Series give students the opportunity to continue their work in a small group environment.  Having already developed skills in inner observation, students are led into the direct experience of the Virtues and Holy Ideas that can lead to deep transformation of their patterns of thinking, feeling and acting.

Working with the Virtues
Working with the Holy Ideas